Wrap it Up

This season, dresses are hot, for day and night. Your best bet, no matter what your size or price range, is a wrap dress. Here’s a quick rundown of some of the best.

Target has a terrific selection of stylish AND affordable dresses, including this one by Mossimo Black. Appropriate for work or play; wear with your boots and a really funky necklace. For under $20.00!

wrap dress from Target

Looking for color and pattern? How about Old Navy’s wrap dress? Available in basic black and two prints (one in purple and this one in claret) for $36.50. Wear with brown OR black shoes. Or silver, for some extra sparkle.

Old Navy wrap dress

Lane Bryant has a fabulous maternity dress in a great wrap style and a beautiful print, for $69.50. Just because you’re expecting doesn’t mean you can’t be hip, and a wrap dress is versatile enough to get you all the way to your due date.

Ann Taylor is the home of classic style, and they really come through with a neutral print wrap dress (also available in basic black). At $128.00, it’s a little pricey, but entirely worth the money.

Feel like splurging? This Diane Von Furstenburg dress will set you back nearly $300.00, but really, it is lovely.

Diane Von Furstenburg wrap dress

Happy wrapping!

10 responses to “Wrap it Up

  1. Susan –
    Love your ideas and the accompanying photos.

    Splurging on a wrap dress is a smart splurge. It is a style that is flattering on most everyone and whether you gain weight or lose, the dress is still going to fit. Plus it can be worn all four seasons.

  2. So my husband will have a good answer when someone asks what’s the best thing he unwrapped on Christmas?

  3. Absolutely, Jeana.

  4. I don’t think I can pull off wrap dresses. Wide hips and an ample bosom end up making me look downright chunky, even when I’m not carrying these extra post-pregnancy pounds.

  5. Nah. Not for me. I have no cleavage, and not small enough a waist. I think you have to look perfect to wear this. But then I’m insecure and this dress reminds me of a wraparound mini-skirt I made in Home Ec in 8th grade. You don’t know insecure until you wear a wraparound miniskirt.

  6. Try the wrap dress on (ha ha, I typed WARP dress, which is really funny, okay maybe only to me, ahem). I think this is a dress that looks BEST on girls with curves; on those of us who are a little less endowed, a well-placed tank top can balance out the v-neck.

    And you know, in the end, it’s all about what YOU feel great in. Amen.

  7. Hi Susan,
    I am an avid Friday Playdate reader and I wanted to say congrats on the new site – love your advice and humor!

    Keep up the good work, I am reading!
    Liz

  8. Hmm. A wrap dress. I had one once and thought it made my butt look long. Maybe because I am short wasted. I am more curvy up top these days. Maybe I’ll try one again. The blue print was pretty. On the model, at least. I am loving this new site! Thanks for the wisdom.

  9. Abbey, I’m assuming that for THREE HUNDRED DOLLARS that model’s body comes WITH that dress.

    Is that too much to ask for? I don’t think so.

  10. Kelly – I agree with Susan. With my chest size and hip size a wrap dress actually makes things look curvy and lovely rather than uniboob-y and big behind. I love wrap dresses, but they seem to be few and far between for girls larger than a 12 for a price less than Ann Taylor. But the Diane dress is fabulous. She can charge that much because she started the whole trend umpteen years ago!

Leave a comment