Like the 1950s All Over (But Way Cooler)

I’m not much of a housewife, but I have to admit to having a soft spot for June Cleaver, vacuuming in her heels and pearls and perfectly ironed shirtdress. Also, I like the idea of the housewife meeting her husband at the door each night with a perfectly mixed martini. Apparently Ward didn’t work as late as my husband does, because by the time he gets home the martinis are all gone.

What? WHAT???

Let’s talk about June’s dress.

The shirtdress is a wonderful option for day, no matter what your work day looks like. Pair it with boots or ballet flats or strappy sandals; toss a cardigan or jacket over it for day, or layer a beautiful camisole under for night.

Spending your days with little people who see you as a walking tissue? Choose something washable, with a pattern (trust me, it will hide the snot. Don’t ask how I know that). This cute little number, by Susina, will set you back $46.00.

Susina shirtdress

Office-bound? Or just wanting to look like you are? Banana Republic has you covered. Subtle and classic, in navy blue (not black! ooh! daring!), it can be yours for a mere $128.00.

Banana Republic shirtdress

Meeting the girls for dinner? I have the perfect dress! Add some sexy black boots and a wide leather belt; garnish with a margarita. Dress available at Speigel (Misses: $69.00, Women’s $79.00).

Spiegel shirtdress

Voila! Now get dressed.

7 responses to “Like the 1950s All Over (But Way Cooler)

  1. Ohhh. I love the print on the Susina. Can a short waisted person pull off a shirt dress?

  2. Abbey, I agree–that dress is adorable. And I think it comes in at least one other color. Browse around at Nordstrom.com.

    I think a short-waisted person CAN wear the shirtdress, because it will give your waist some definition. You can also take the belt off or replace it with a different belt; if there are no loops, you can belt the dress wherever your natural waist is.

    Try one on; it’s a great staple.

  3. So cute!! So cute!! But, seriously, I just don’t think my body type will allow me to pull off these dresses. (Maybe it’s just that I think my body type looks bad in everything…)

  4. I used to wear these. I wonder if they will still look good on me now that my body has been destroyed by motherhood. I guess I am up for a try, since I love the style so much.

    SO tell me, if you are a mom with no time to try on clothes in a store, which online stores are the best for returns incase the item doesn’t fit well? I try to do most of my shopping online, but clothes are so hard to tell by looking at a picture.

  5. Hi,

    I’m Leslie, I was surfing around for some retro dresses as I remember from the type that “June Cleaver” would wear. I don’t know. To me they just seem very feminine.

  6. Leslie, take a look at Banana Republic; they’ve got some fantastic pleated shirtdresses right now, which are softer and more feminine than the dresses here.

    I really like this one.

  7. Hi, Neat post. There’s a problem along with your site in internet explorer, could check this¡K IE nonetheless is the marketplace leader and a big portion of other people will omit your excellent writing because of this problem.

Leave a Reply

