Real People, Real Fashion

Or, What I’m Wearing Today.

Wednesday, 31 January
J. Crew cashmere sweater, Old Navy ribbed tank top, Gap wool trousers

I bought this cashmere sweater ten years ago, when we were all wearing our waistbands right up under our armpits; I still adore the sweater, but it’s a little short for my lower waisted pants (and we all know that the first rule at Friday Style is NO ONE WANTS TO SEE YOUR UNDERWEAR, or in this case, my exposed midriff) so I wear it with a longer tank, to keep everything covered up.

A colorful tank layered under a warm sweater is also a great way to beat the winter blahs this time of year. Add a bright necklace (I have on some blue glass beads) and suddenly spring seems a little closer.

Now it’s YOUR turn! Show us what you’re wearing. Send a photo and a description to fridayplaydate at cox dot net.

7 responses to “Real People, Real Fashion

  1. Love your outfit. You do not want to know what I am wearing today…you would be disappointed! :) Thanks for sharing yours though! I love wool pants…need to buy some new ones!

  2. pretty!

  3. I am all about the wool pants–I’m wearing mine with my L L Bean boots today, because it’s snowing (again). They’re warm and comfy and nicer looking than my jeans.

  4. Okay, I’m having laundry issues today…AND we’re all sick–just remember that as you recoil in horror at my outfit:

    — black yoga pants
    — grey Gap t-shirt (so far so good)

    ANNNNNNDDD (drumroll)

    XXL reversable green sweatshirt, circa 1991, that reads “Kappa Delta Hayride, University of Missouri Columbia”

    Whywhywhy do I still own this??? It goes down to mid-thigh, and makes “No Hippy Chicks” play in my head all day. That’s not a good thing.

    I promise I will not venture out of the house today. And, clearly, I will not be “gettin’ lucky” tonight, either.

  5. Katy, I think I am a step below you today. I am wearing comfy yoga pants that I *think* are meant to be capris, but I am short so they are regular pants length on me, an oversized green sweatshirt that I bought intentionally large so that it would still fit me in a few months when I am monstrously oversized (I’m 5.5 months pregnant). I justify this outfit with the fact that I am sick, and all my son and I are doing today is waiting for snow, packing my husband for his trip this weekend, and laundry/dishes. And I promise not to leave the house. Not even for the mail. It’s too cold out to even think about it.

  6. Katy and Rachel, you all are making me think we need a What I Wear When I’m Not Leaving Home feature.

    Send me a picture. Come on.

  7. Oh no way, I am totally photophobic and its even worse when I have that whole “I’m pregnant, I feel like a whale, stop telling me the baby belly is cute” syndrome.

Leave a Reply

